PDA

View Full Version : Finished Tourmaster - First Commute!

GregLWB
05-11-2009, 12:55 PM
Hi All,

I love this bike!:scooter: I finished my TourMaster last week and stripped all the parts I could off of my old LWB bike. So the parts are the same (including the gas assist motor) except for the frame and a suspension fork and a 26" tire on the front. Today was my first day commuting on the TourMaster (53 mile round trip - still have to ride home later).

My ride in was much more comfortable and relaxed. I did not feel as tired after the ride. I felt far less road vibration. The bike was easy to balance at low speed due to the seating to crank angle and the remote steer. My average speed was about 2 mph slower than on the previous LWB bike (26-28 instead of 28-29 but still made the ride in just under 1 hour).

So my 2 cents is this. The TourMaster is a more comfortable design for longer distances and is much easier to adapt to power assist (either gas or electric) but I'm not sure you really lose any speed overall because I had a small fairing on my previous bike and have not yet done so on the TourMaster.

Here are pics of both bikes. The first one had a total of over 2000 miles commuting on it, over 1600 of that with a motor.
http://i694.photobucket.com/albums/vv301/gdfran0/LaBent1.jpg

And here is a pic of my TourMaster
http://i694.photobucket.com/albums/vv301/gdfran0/TourMasterBike/Picture082.jpg

Greg

graucho
05-11-2009, 02:55 PM
Wow! what a sweet ride. Everything about it screams ride me. The 35 Robin and the GEBE kit tucks in perfectly behind. A head turner for sure. Great job.

GregLWB
05-11-2009, 07:44 PM
Wow! what a sweet ride. Everything about it screams ride me. The 35 Robin and the GEBE kit tucks in perfectly behind. A head turner for sure. Great job.