PDA

View Full Version : First build, and some Q's.

corkscrew
06-07-2010, 03:00 PM
Hello All, I'm Cj. I'm new to the forum, and to the AZ plans in general. I've purchased the Warrior plans and looking over them, I have some questions.

*Disclaimer, I'm not the welder. This is going to be a joint operation between my friend who owns a metal shop and myself. I'm the bicycle guru of the operation, but I'm completely new to welding. (Forgive my noob q's :) )

1 -

Is there any reason this can not be built from Aluminum stock? My friend has the equipment to do it and square aluminum tubing on hand, just wasn't sure if there was a good reason NOT to do it as far as structural integrity.

2 -

Has anyone used a road rim in the rear? I have a spare 27" wheel sitting in my garage, I also have a few 26's, but thought the taller rim might be better for road applications, while the dropout spacing might have to change. (5.25=133.35 mm, so basically 130mm mtn hubs, not the 126mm of my road wheel)

3 -

On the above question - I've noticed the tire to fork clearances are very tight. Would it be a problem to extend the fork slightly to put in mounts for a full coverage rear fender? Has anyone adapted fenders for the front wheels?

4 -

Brakes - the disc setup is looking rather expensive. (Terratrike wheels and Avid BB7's). I've noticed the streetfox uses normal caliper brakes and what seems like normal BMX front wheels. If this is the case would purchasing the Streetfox plans be worthwhile as far as implementation and stopping power?

I'm meeting with my welding buddy later this week to go over stuff, but wanted to ask everyone here first. I already have 3 mountain bike frames ready to be sacrificed, but might need a few more since I think my buddy wants to build two now. :)

Thanks all, sorry if I asked stupid questions!

Odd Man Out
06-07-2010, 05:35 PM
Welcome Cork