PDA

View Full Version : Welding, & Bike Safety

Richie104
11-25-2010, 04:44 AM
Hi all im the new guy here, this might be in the wrong place so im sorry if it is,
I have just brought the plans for the tomahawk lowracer, but im a bit worried about building it. I have never used a welder before and im a bit worried the strength of the welds as I don't want my bike to disintergrate when im doing 40mph. How has everyone found welding for the first time and does your finished bike feel safe and doesn't flex.
Thanks
Richie.

mark barker
11-25-2010, 05:50 AM
Hi Richie, welcome to the forum! I'm also a noobie welder, and so far I've spent my time welding scrap metal together to practice. I'm going with the theory that spending a few hours (or in my case many hours!) messing up on some old scrap is worth it if the outcome is good, strong welds on the frame. I've signed up for some welding lessons at my local college after xmas, so hopefully things will improve after that!

Richie104
11-25-2010, 09:25 AM
Hey Mark,
I have got some scrap and im going to have a good practice this weekend.
What bike are you planning on making?

KoolKat
11-25-2010, 10:45 AM
Hey Richie. Welcome to the Atomic Zombie family.

badcheese
11-25-2010, 03:43 PM
I think you'll have a lot more confidence in your ability to make a good weld after 1) practicing a lot and 2) giving your practice pieces a thorough hammer test so you learn to recognize your good welds from your bad welds. Wear eye protection when you do the hammer test! Good luck.

Richie Rich
11-26-2010, 01:59 AM
WELCOME...!!

It's nice to see another "Richie" here on the Forums...!!

What type of welder do you have...Stick or Wire-Feed..??

There are several Welding tips and tutorials here on the Forum which you might want to take a look at. Start with this one from Brad....

http://www.atomiczombie.com/ct-welding.html#welding

Best of luck with your project and keep us posted on your progress.