PDA

View Full Version : welding problems

coleman
02-06-2011, 09:50 AM
hi , just started my first build,a tomahawk lowracer.i am having big problems welding,this is my first time and i cant seem to arc properly it just stick all the time.im useing 1,5mm rods to weld 1,5mm tubing.any help gladly recieved

cileman

Racer46
02-06-2011, 12:38 PM
You may want to check out Brad's tutorial on welding: Atomic Zombie Welding Tutorial (http://www.atomiczombie.com/ct-welding.html#welding) About half way down the page he explains about how to strike an arc and what causes sticking.

Radical Brad
02-06-2011, 01:59 PM
When I was learning to weld, I realized that 90% of the trouble was from not having the amp dial up enough.
Brad

socialtalker
02-07-2011, 01:11 AM
i also ask welding questions on weldingweb(dotcom)

stuartm9999
03-03-2011, 05:40 AM
Keep trying.
Althoug I did 1/2 a days welding at university (for some strange reason it was felt electrical angineers needed to weld), when I started last year it took me about 20 minutes to start each arc and about 3/4 of the welds fell apart.
Now it takes me about 10 minutes and about 1/4 fall apart!
I also found turning up the juice until the welder growled rather than hummed helped.

shifty
03-07-2011, 06:22 PM
Sorry, I can't help as I have no idea about Arc/Stick welding as I use MIG, mainly as I find it easier. But if you are in the UK try visiting www.mig-welding.co.uk (http://www.mig-welding.co.uk) as there is plenty of help to be had.
Above all, find some scrap steel and keep practising. Practice really does make perfect!

John Lewis
03-08-2011, 05:56 AM
My advice for what its worth.

Start with a piece of 1/4" plate or similar. Turn the amps up. If it sticks or hard to start turn it up more.