PDA

View Full Version : Tires

gbbwolf
07-10-2008, 04:07 AM
Ok here is the set of rims I bought awhile back.

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-ATB-WHEEL-SET-DISC-READY-WHEELS-26-WTB-TIRES_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ58089QQihZ010QQit emZ200221193710QQrdZ1

And these are the tires I found.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=150266851350&ssPageName=STRK:MEWA:IT&ih=005

Will these tires work ok for the rims I have.

I know nothing about bicycle tires so i need some help to not make a bad purchase.

Papa will the tires you put up work ok with these rims.

And if I buy tires that are like 1.5 will I need different tubes , or will the tubes they sent me work.
Sorry Im a newb at bicycle parts.

Thanks guys

Nelson

Pagan Wizard
07-10-2008, 04:50 AM
The rims are 2.1 inches wide while the tires are inly 1.25 inches wide. With the wider rims, you'll need wider tires. If my failing memory serves me well, the tires you use should be within .25 iches of the width of the rim.

trikeman
07-10-2008, 07:24 AM
I found this article by Sheldon Brown to be of great help when I was trying to figure out what the minimum width of tire I could put on my road bike was a few years ago (Roadies think that way lol).

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/tire_sizing.html

n9viw
07-10-2008, 01:43 PM
The rims are 2.1 inches wide while the tires are inly 1.25 inches wide. With the wider rims, you'll need wider tires. If my failing memory serves me well, the tires you use should be within .25 iches of the width of the rim.

PW, the post lists the tire size as 2.1", not the rim. I've yet to see a modern 26" rim, either aluminum or steel, that isn't 1" or thereabouts for aluminum and 1.5 or so for steel. Come to think of it, I can't say as I've ever seen a rim wider than that, not to say they don't exist.