PDA

View Full Version : How "pretty" should the un-painted un-Bondo'd work be?

DannyC
04-30-2014, 01:57 PM
Hi Folks,

Some may have noticed that I have been entering a blog of my build each day.
It's all fairly pedestrian I am sure, but I've never done any serious metalwork before and so I am pretty-much feeling my way on my build.

Today was install the suspension pivot tube day (the full story is in the blog).

The pics below are the current state of play and while it is not as "pretty" as I would like, it is IN, it is square and it is NOT going to come out in a hurry. I have the option to apply more “clean-up” with files/flap-discs later.

http://s5.postimg.org/nv7oqkxur/P1020152.jpg (http://postimg.org/image/nv7oqkxur/)

http://s5.postimg.org/7vp1711sz/P1020153.jpg (http://postimg.org/image/7vp1711sz/)

http://s5.postimg.org/exmyt85er/P1020155.jpg (http://postimg.org/image/exmyt85er/)

Having seen all the fabulous finished creations in the gallery I wonder how "pretty" things need to be prior to any filling-in with filler and painting up?

I know there is only so much lipstick one can put on a pig (it is still a pig) but how much perfection should I be aiming for in the raw steel?

Regards,

Dan.

go1000go
04-30-2014, 02:11 PM
Get a can of spray paint and give your work a quick blast.
Then you will see the finished result now.

I find although easier to sand bondo or body filler, you can spend as long filing and sanding this, as it takes to use a flap wheel.
Also if you want to get your creation powder coated, you cannot use bondo.

All a matter of personal choice ultimately.

Brad covers this topic well in every set of plans, so I would be guided by his experience.

bambuko
04-30-2014, 03:27 PM
It's not the worst of the efforts shown here :)
Main danger is that in an attempt to "beautify" it you will be too energetic with angle grinder, actually weakening the structure.
You have two choices: