PDA

View Full Version : Newb with questions

Skut_monkey
09-13-2014, 07:14 AM
Hi guys

been looking into a diy e scooter to get me to work every day as its cheaper than running my van

its only a 3 mile commute both ways through industrial estates so not too bad, the plan is get the parts and build the frame around it ( im a fabricator/welder so design and build is not the issue)

i need to know the following to get my plan underway

batteries

im a big bloke ( 6"2 ex bouncer so quite a weight to carry) i need plenty of power and cheaper is better with the mrs

motor
im a bit of a power freak from my cars over the years so its got to have a powerful motor ( going chain drive to mini moto wheels on the rear so i can adjust gearing for speed or acceleration). Im not worried about legal limits, it just wants to have a good top end speed

controller

erm..... Yeah, im a welder, not an electrical genius, simple controller with a twist throttle to regulate power to max, recommendations please?

Thats all i need to know,
the overview is a cross country capable e scooter with ridiculous power for dirt races with a few mates, so long as its fast enough or stupid enough to do something silly, then im all for it

Cheers

darnthedog
09-13-2014, 08:27 AM
Welcome to the fun Skut_monkey
Batteries will depend on your buget. Lighter, longer range batteries cost more. Lithium provide the best bang for the buck as they are lighter and provide better range. Realize the batteries have to provide the power to carry themselves as well as vehicle and passenger. So the less they weigh and more power they provide the long they last.