PDA

View Full Version : New build

remus
02-09-2016, 05:48 PM
Hi I am new to bike building but not to recumbents I used to ride years ago. I have all the frame material ready to start but need to practice my welding it was part of my trade. This build will end up as an electric power assisted bike or even a trike l will keep you all informed as the project go's on

darnthedog
02-09-2016, 06:07 PM
Welcome to the fun remus.
Emma is your resident expert in electric assist in the UK. Aka Twinkle. Lots of builds under her feet. Mostly based off streetfox with some mods such as underseat steering, disc brakes. So enjoy the build.

swizz69
02-09-2016, 06:29 PM
Welcome Remus - enjoy your bike building!

Twinkle
02-10-2016, 05:35 AM
Hi remus

welcome to the fun and the forum , there are a few of us in the UK

where are you in the UK?

regards emma

Radical Brad
02-10-2016, 09:48 PM
Thanks for joining!

Brad

remus
02-11-2016, 11:35 AM
Thanks for the welcome to the forum.l will need some help on selecting an electric rear wheel set. I am quite happy with the use of lipos as l fly Heli's, quadcopters and fixedwing some with FPV.I think I would use my 5200 3s 10c in series to give 36v or 48v this should give me me a few miles of help when needed I could parallel a second set. So what wattage would be looking for I will be using it on the road in the Spirit then moving it to a Street Fox trike . Emma has asked my location. I live in the Newcastle area in Northumberland.

Twinkle
02-11-2016, 01:08 PM
Hi remus ,

we fly fixed wing electric about 500watt output models ( I am also on RCG ) , with that out the way I have electrified several trikes and bikes and have used lipo's , lifepo4 and a lot of other batteries - at least I dont need to explain the problems with lipo's .