DIY Bike and Trike Plans

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help on what type of Welder

Hybrid View

badweld Guest

Question Help on what type of Welder

Hello guys man this is a great site....I have a couple of question to ask..!
    I am looking to by one of these welders could you tell me witch welder would be better to buy?
    90 Amp Flux Wire Welder or a 100 Amp or 120 Amp Arc Welder I don't have 220!
    Any help on this matter would be great...just starting out and don't have much to work with yet.
    Thanks for your time guys

Default Re: Help on what type of Welder

Hi badweld
    It all depends on you. What is your welding experience? As a new welder I found the wire feed flux welder easier to learn. However the arc welder will allows you different options for different metals. Also I understand if you learn Arc via stick welding you can weld just about anything. I had issues getting the arc to start and keep going. I have the same Wire feed welder but I upgrade it to a gas feed using ready made factory kit. Gas feed mig has less smoke so it is easier for me to see where to weld. One day I would like to try tig welding as I would like to experiment with Aluminum. But that s sort of a future plan sort of thing. YOu might want to check out Garage sales and Craigslist or Backpage for used welders. I got mine from a Garage sale and the guy threw in a 4.5 inch angle grinder. Just know your prices before looking as some people want a mint for their machines and if your paying that much for them then get new with warranty.

Kardolf Guest