Lathe Boy Strikes again :-)

The requirement for M10 threaded nuts with 19mm AF instead of 17mm as standard means you have to make your own.

Its just some 19mm Hex-bar and 4 or 5 hours of messing about (aka "FUN") on a mini-lathe. :)
While it was perishing cold in my little workshop I enjoyed making these as it is something that I have never done before.
Sequence was:
  1. Swap out the 4-jaw chuck for the 3-jaw chuck.
  2. Cut Hex bar into 4 smaller manageable lengths.
  3. Progressively drill each piece 4mm, then 6mm, then 8.5mm.
  4. Start an M10 thread in each piece and finish by hand with a tap-wrench (too grunty for a little mini-lathe to do).
  5. Cut the tapped sections into 2 or 3 pieces that are just over the size (height) of standard M12 nuts with an angle-grinder (mini-lathes do not like parting-off operations). :(
  6. Mount each piece into the chuck and face off and chamfer each end and chamfer the threaded holes.
I have never done this before, but they came out pretty good and they fit very well onto M10 stud (even though I say so myself). :D

Last edited:
You can buy M10 with 19mm. I know it's not as satisfying as making them.
Now he tells us DOH

The request was from me as the elastomers for my tilting are M10 however the rod end bearings for the Python pivot are M12
I only wanted to carry 1 set of spanners , and there is a chance the elastomer bolts could loosen as there are no lock nuts used.

My child labour boy did good :LOL:

Paul

Thank you all for your observations and inputs. :)
My original suggestion was to chop 2 spanners (19 & 17mm and weld 2 halves together, but the customer baulked at the destruction of 2 perfectly good spanners.
I did point out that he would still have 2 perfectly good spanners just in different formats, but he insisted. ;).

Last edited:
The truth is more mundane ....

I have a cut down set of 19mm spanners , I did not also want to carry a set of cut down 17mm spanners.